Autumn


Autumn…

And so it begins a new era. A recap in the Facebook fashion of the last 7 seven years. I turn 70 this month, ( today as I post this) seven years ago we move into our house. We were pretty much broke and had no idea how long we would be here. We now own it. A lot of luck, blessings, and help. At one point people who knew about our loss and struggle gave us donations to help get established after the loss of our life investment of the boat surprisingly a lot of these people were from Facebook, many of whom we never met. There are people in the world with good hearts, it does not seem that way much these days in the darkness of Corona 19, and people getting shot over wearing a mask and the great divide in America.
It is hard to think of myself as 70! At first, I was just going to stay low key about it, but it is something to celebrate. Many of my friends never made it this far. Schoolmates some of which are dead, in jail, or strung out, being this old alive and well, living a peaceful life mostly healthy in Japan is a major blessing!
Anyway, when first coming to Japan my plan was to study Zen, Kyudo, Shakuhachi, shamisen, start a boating business, teach Kung Fu and meditation, explore the inland sea, play with a band, do some ceramics and write about the adventure.
For the most part, I did it, I am doing it.
My motorbike arrived today. I am so jazzed about that, but in a low key kind of way, as I do not have my license yet to dive. But I will take it to a parking lot around the corner and practice… a lot for my next test on Aug 17th.
So let’s go through my former plan list.
Study Zen:
I am doing that although not as I had figured. The teachers I have been in contact with are in Taiwan, not counting the one in the States, but none in Japan. I was associated with one Zen “master” here but he turned out to be a jerk, I lost respect for him big time. Other than him I have not really encountered Zen people here. I have met a couple online via Facebook, I plan on meeting one day, but other than that none. Jodo-Shu and Jodo-Shinshu Buddhist, but no Zen. So my Zen practice is still Chinese and now with some Jodo-Shu influence from Japan.
Kyudo: 
It was my goal to be at yon-dan by now. I have failed at that. However, it does not matter. It has become far less important than the value which I had in my mind. It remains my challenge, but it does not really matter if I get there. I am enjoying the journey, the people I train with, the training, the challenge. It is truly the journey, not the destination.
Shakuhachi:
I have made I think great steps in this. My goal was to learn from the beginning, the proper way. Then just explore. Many times I pick up stuff just by playing with little to no formal training. This time it is different. I had no real goal other than just to play and add it to some band songs. It has lead me to a couple of different groups of people. It has gotten me to be the first Black American Komuso and have played several old old temples. I have played a couple of times with bands and solo performances. Also, lead me to a connection with a Jodo-Shu Buddhist temple where I play, teach Meditation, and hang out and drink with the Abbot. It has been a rewarding and interesting experience, which is just beginning I think. I have no real goals with it now other than just improving, other than that just see where it leads.

 

Shamisen.

I picked up an Okinawa style Shaminsen, which I toy around with from time to time, but other than that I have no real desire to take formal lessons. Time and money are a factor. I am already pretty busy.
Boating business:
I had wanted to do a boat charter business with my Catamaran. That dream is lost with the boat. I have however started a Japanese license practical test assisting business. This via some help from BLISS sailing school. I am also able to teach sailing via them if I have students. I have not really been pushing that. Perhaps that will change some once I am mobile. I am also able to get some ailing in with the use of his boat. I am distancing myself from my former association with Aoki Boat school, after he almost got me killed, with not even a sorry thank you, then laid me off because I would not do any more long-distance delivery for him.
Teaching Kung Fu and Meditation:
When I first arrived I was able to get a position at the large community center teaching both. The Kung Fu did not do too well. The meditation was poor but functioning. The company started taking a bigger cut of the little money, so it was not worth it. I have had a few private Kung Fu classes, but they have not lasted. People here that take it have been non-Japanese a do not want to travel, they want something convenient!
There has been an interest of late from my doing Zen classes at the temple of my friend the Abbot. A couple of people expressed interest in Tai Chi class and the Abbot in interested in Hsing Yi. Again once my transportation issue has been resolved I can develop a class there. Otherwise, my martial Art practice remains my personal endeavor. Exploring the sea of Seto
It did not happen as I planned, but I did get to do some sailing of the inland sea when doing the boat delivery. It was interesting but rushed because of working the owner was always in a rush so he did not have to pay much for my time. It also put me into harm way a couple of times ailing typhoons, but I do get to do it. So that can be counted as a success. Even though I did not do enough of it to write in a book. On the other hand, the idea has changed into motorbiking around Japan, visiting ports, old temples, small villages. Hidden spots via Motorcycle. Perhaps more interesting than sailing.

Bands:
I have been with several bands and am still with several bands. It is not as I had thought, the mindset is different here playing it is more like a Hobby mind than a business min. Their goals, from the circles I am in, are to just have fun. There is no looking to be a house band or steady employed. At least with what I am doing or seen. It maybe is different in the younger pop scenes. Currently, I am a member of three Blues bands. I was thinking of starting a band playing to “Gaijin” at their bars, but…with then the virus hit and the world changed. The bars/clubs re changing to the new style of business. Will see what the future brings. I have been invited to join a newly forming band, by a good guitar player I have worked with before. He knows a lot of club owners. He wants to start a band playing mostly in our area. Before there was a lot of traveling to play. With the new development of our area perhaps there with be more opportunity to play locally. Also perhaps this new band will do some music that is more interesting to the locals than just Blues, which is a limited crowd. Anyway, I am also established now, many people and places know me. My own band was supposed to play at the big “Blues” festival this year, but it became the victim of the virus and was canceled. Next year?? Who knows what the tide will bring. Ceramics:

It took me a while to find a place, but I did local. It is not the greatest, but it is something. It gives me a chance to practice my skill on limited bases. It made me realize how good I had it in college studying. There was a broad range of techniques and styles. Here it is limited on several levels, but it is something and it gives me an outlet for some practice. It is not worth it for me to be there every class. I have my plan now. I go in for about three months, get some things fired and glazed, buy enough clay to wok on my own for a couple of months, then take a break from the class fo about three months and just work at home on projects. When a bunch are ready, repeat the process. It is more of a club than a real learning environment for me. So I have found my way to make it work.

The book:

I from time to time do some work on my book about the sailing trip. Not a real priority, I do not expect it to be that much of an interest to most people, and it was not really a high adventure type of journey. So when it happens it happens. Also, I do not feel I have made any real land moving goals to have a big finish to that section of life, other than surviving, which is a great deal, but you know what I mean. Hopefully, this new section will give me some highlights, the bike tours, Kyudo Go-dan ranking, successful Tai Chi, and Meditation Class. I do not have any other real goals right now, other than that, and surviving the era of the virus!
So let’s see how this goes…we are off on to a new decade. I will Ganbarimas! ( do my best )
Amitoufo

2 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. First blog I ever read, only because I was searching for an Iroquois catamaran. Very interesting. I like your style. It’s strange, yet not surprising, how fate grabs us by the nose to drag us to a point in time and space we may have never ventured.

    Like

Leave a comment